I/GCSE Preparation for international school students in Hong Kong

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a globally recognized qualification for school students, typically aged 14 to 16. It is a qualification based on individual subjects of study; in other words, a student may receive an I/GCSE qualification for each subject he or she takes.

The I/GCSE is predominantly exam-based and is designed to test students’ knowledge in individual subjects. I/GCSE assessment is administered by different examination boards, including Edexcel (London Examinations) and Cambridge International Examinations (CIE). The I/GCSE caters to students with varying levels of ability with a choice of tiered examination for most subjects:

Edexcel: Foundation and Higher Tier
Cambridge: Core and Extended Papers

Some I/GCSE subjects can be taken with or without coursework.

  • Administered by two exam boards in Hong Kong: Cambridge and Edexcel
  • Examinations across a variety of subjects
  • Suitable for ages 14-16
  • Equivalent to secondary school qualification
  • Preparation for GCE (A Levels)
  • UK university entrance exams

Check Schedule Frequently Asked Questions


What we offer:

  • English 1st Language - CIE

    I/GCSE 1st year & 2nd year

    This course will teach students essential reading and writing skills of the English Language paper for CIE. Working with an experienced I/GCSE English tutor, students are exposed to reading passages that will test their critical thinking skills, their knowledge of language and its effects, and their ability to identify key points from texts. They will also learn key concepts such as literary devices and writers’ effects.

  • English 1st Language - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 1st year & 2nd year

    In this course, students will have targeted training in reading and writing, as well as become familiar with popular exam topics and exam strategies. They will also learn from the high-scoring essays provided. Our aim is to help students grasp reading comprehension and writing skills, and learn sufficient exam techniques in order to achieve high scores in the exam.

  • Chinese A - CIE

    I/GCSE 1st year & 2nd year

    This course aims to help students achieve a high score on the I/GCSE 1st Language exam. Based on the requirements of the new 2010 syllabus, our I/GCSE Chinese tutors will provide students with targeted training in reading and writing. Students will become familiar with various types of exam questions and exam strategies. They will also learn from the high-scoring essays provided.

  • Chinese B - CIE

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    The materials used in this class are prepared by our teachers with reference to real exam questions. Students will acquire speed reading and answering skills, as well as become familiar with the requirements of different text types. Students will also learn vocabulary and sentence structures. In addition, students will study sample essays to enhance their writing techniques and strengthen oral presentation skills.

  • Mandarin

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    In this course, lessons will focus on enhancing students’ communication skills in everyday Chinese, including listening, reading, oral and writing. We will provide high-scoring sample essays and equip students with effective exam skills. At the end of the course, students will have increased their vocabulary and be able to tackle reading comprehension tasks of 300 words or above, as well as produce writings of 150 words.

  • Mathematics - CIE 0607

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course aims to prepare students for their first year of I/GCSE Mathematics in the CIE 0607 syllabus. The course is taught by our skilled I/GCSE maths tutors, and follows the latest syllabus of the CIE examination board, which is widely used in international schools in Hong Kong. Upon successful completion of this course, students will gain knowledge on relevant topics and will become familiar with the style of questions that appear on the exam.

  • Mathematics - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course aims to prepare students for their first year of I/GCSE Mathematics study in the Edexcel syllabus. The course is taught by our skilled I/GCSE maths tutors based on the latest syllabus of the Edexcel examination board, which is widely used in international schools in Hong Kong. Upon successful completion of this course, students will gain knowledge on relevant topics and will become familiar with the style of questions that appear on the exam.

  • Biology - CIE / Edexcel

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course aims to prepare students for the I/GCSE Biology exam and helps develop students’ understanding of science in daily life. The objectives of this course are to develop students’ questioning, analytical and evaluative approach to scientific problems, and to encourage enthusiasm for science. In this course, students will become familiar with topics in the syllabus and practice on past paper questions. They will also gain a deeper understanding of the subject that allows them to approach the exam with skill and confidence.

  • Chemistry - CIE

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course covers introductory topics of the revised I/GCSE Chemistry CIE specification, which consists of 14 topics. First examinations of this syllabus will take place in 2016. In this course, students will gain a better understanding of Chemistry concepts and their applications. Through practicing exam-style questions, students will develop useful exam skills and techniques. Taught by our experienced I/GCSE chemistry tutors, this course caters to students’ different background and skill level.

  • Chemistry - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 1st year

    This course covers most topics in sections 1 and 2 of the I/GCSE Chemistry Edexcel specification: Principles of Chemistry and Chemistry of the Elements. The aim of this course is to enable students to build a strong foundation in Chemistry. Emphasis will be placed on avoiding common mistakes and developing exam strategies. Through past paper questions drilling and application, students will develop exam skills and techniques. This course will also provide a preview of second year topics.

    I/GCSE 2nd year

    This course covers topics in sections 3, 4 and 5 of the I/GCSE Chemistry Edexcel specification: Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry and Chemistry in Industry. The emphasis of this course is to prepare students for the I/GCSE exam, by improving their knowledge and exam skills, as well as becoming familiar with the different question types. This course will provide in-depth coverage of all relevant topics for maximizing learning efficiency.

  • Physics - CIE

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    The aim of this course is to prepare students for the I/GCSE CIE Physics exam. This course allows students to learn in an active environment following a constructivist approach and gain confidence in applying concepts relevant to the examination. Past paper questions will be provided throughout the course with specific topics selected for students to practice outside of class. Students will also have the opportunity to engage in quizzes and interactive discussions.

  • Physics - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    The aim of this course is to prepare students for I/GCSE Edexcel Physics exam. This course allows students to learn in an active environment following a constructivist approach and gain confidence in applying concepts relevant to the examination. Past paper questions will be provided throughout the course with specific topics selected for students to practice outside of class. Students will also have the opportunity to engage in quizzes and interactive discussions throughout the course.

  • Economics - CIE 

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course covers the common topics of I/GCSE Economics (CIE) taught in the 1st year & 2nd year of most schools. The aim of this course is to provide students with a solid background in Economics. The course content will be delivered in a logical sequence for maximum learning efficiency. Students will also become familiar with exam-style questions through past paper practice.

  • Economics - Edexcel 

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course covers the common topics of I/GCSE Economics (Edexcel ) taught in the 1st year & 2nd year of most schools. The aim of this course is to provide students with a solid background in Economics. The course content will be delivered in a logical sequence for maximum learning efficiency. Students will also become familiar with exam-style questions through past paper practice.

  • Business Studies - CIE

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course aims to prepare year 10 / year 11 students for the CIE I/GCSE Business Studies assessment. Students will become familiar with the exam format and consolidate their knowledge. Our instructor will help students approach exam-style questions with reference to all six topics within the syllabus (Understanding Business Activities, People in Business, Marketing, Operations Management, Financial Information and Decisions, and External Influences on Business). At the end of the course, students will have developed and improved their case study analysis as well as exam-taking skills.

  • Geography – Edexcel

    I/GCSE 1st & 2nd year

    This course aims to prepare year 10 / year 11 students for the Edexcel I/GCSE Geography assessment. Through past paper practice and case study revision, students will become familiar with the features of exam questions and acquire answering techniques. Our instructor will help students approach exam-style questions with reference to the International Edexcel curriculum (some themes are subjected to exemption based on the majority of the students’ requirements). At the end of the course, students will have developed important skills in geographical comprehension, case study application, and essay writing.


Available upon request:

  • English Literature
  • Additional Mathematics
  • History

Private Lessons and Camps are also available. Please call 2577 7844 (Main campus) / 2718 3000 (Kowloon campus) or submit an online enquiry form for more details.


Recommended Study Guides:

More NTK publications are available!

I/GCSE

I/GCSE是一项获全球认可的考试,专门针对14-16岁的学生。该证书根据学生所修学科来颁发,学生可以分别获得他所选的不同学科的证书。

I/GCSE主要依靠考试来测试学生相关学科的学术水平。其测试由不同考试局承办,包括Edexcel(伦敦考试委员会)和CIE(剑桥大学国际考试委员会)。I/GCSE提供众多不同的科目,每科设有不同程度,使得不同水平的学生可以有更多的选择。

Edexcel: 基础级和高级
CIE:核心试卷和延伸试卷

一些I/GCSE的科目可以选择不用完成课业。

  • 在香港主要可以参加两个考试局的考试:CIE及Edexcel
  • 多种科目可供选择
  • 适合14-16岁的学生
  • 等同於中学毕业证书
  • 为GCE(A-Levels)做准备
  • 英国大学入学考试

查看课程安排 常见问题


我们提供:

  •  英国语文(第一语言)- CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程遵循I/GCSE CIE英国语文第一语言课程指导方针。通过阅读文章,学生将锻炼他们的批判性思维能力,增加语言知识,以及从段落中找到重点的能力。

  •  英国语文(第一语言)- Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程遵循I/GCSE Edexcel英国语文第一语言课程指导方针。通过阅读文章,学生将锻炼他们的批判性思维能力,增加语言知识,以及从段落中找到重点的能力。

  •  中国语文A - CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    导师在每节课将为学生提供专门的阅读和写作训练,传授考试技巧,指导考试热门话题,补充写作素材,介绍作文要点,并提供高分范文。完成课程后,学生可熟悉试题的命题规律与应对策略,掌握阅读理解的答题方法,积累丰富而独特的写作材料,了解不同文体的写作要求及写作技巧,全力以赴助学生在考试中夺取佳绩。

  •  中国语文B - CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    导师会在每节课安排大量真题及模拟题练习,传授快速阅读与答题技巧,讲解作文写作方法,并提供高分写作词汇、句式及范文。完成课程后,学生可掌握试题的命题规律与应对策略、不同文体的写作要求及技巧,积累丰富的写作材料,熟悉阅读理解的答题方法,全力以赴助学生在考试中取得佳绩。

  • 普通话

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    导师在每节课都将安排真題及模拟试题练习,从听力、阅读、口语及写作四个方面集中训练,传授考试技巧,讲解作文写作方法,提供高分范文,并教授独家考试技巧,帮助学习在考试中取得佳绩。完成课程后,学生將掌握大量考试必备词汇、解答300 字以上的阅读理解、有能力完成150 字以上的作文。

  • 数学 - CIE 0607

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程旨在为学生准备I/GCSE数学CIE 0607的第一年 / 第二年课程。本课程遵循CIE考试委员会制定的最新考试大纲,这一大纲广泛应用于香港的国际学校。在完成该课程后,学生将获得相关的知识,并熟悉考题风格。

  • 数学 - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程旨在为学生准备I/GCSE数学Edexcel的第一年 / 第二年课程。本课程遵循Edexcel考试委员会制定的最新考试大纲,这一大纲广泛应用于香港的国际学校。在完成该课程后,学生将获得相关的知识,并熟悉考题风格。

  • 生物 - CIE / Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程旨在帮助学生准备I/GCSE生物考试,并帮助学生增强在日常生活中对科学知识的理解。本课程的目的是培养学生的探究能力,分析能力和掌握对科学问题的评估方法,并建立学生对科学的兴趣。在课程中,学生们将熟悉考试大纲中的课题及练习以往真题。他们将对所学科目有更深的理解,并掌握足够技巧及信心迎接考试。

  • 化学 - CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年
     

    本课程遵循已修订的I/GCSE化学CIE大纲,涵盖14个专题。本大纲的第一次考试将于2016年进行。通过本课程,学生们将更好地理解化学概念及其应用。通过练习模拟题,学生将掌握有用的考试技巧。本课程流程设置适用于不同背景和水平的学生。
  • 化学 - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年

    本课程涵盖I/GCSE Edexcel化学第1和第2部分:化学原理和化学元素。本课程的目的是让学生建立坚实的化学基础。课程重点将放在如何避免常见错误,并制定考试策略。通过练习真题,学生将逐步掌握考试技巧。 本课程还将概述第二年课题。

    I/GCSE 第二年

    本课程涵盖了I/GCSE化学Edexcel第3、4和5部分的內容:有机化学、物理化学和化学工业。本课程的重点是帮助学生准备I/GCSE考试,提高他们的知识和考试技能,并熟悉不同类型的考题。本课程将帮助学生准备相关的所有课题,并有效地帮助学生提高学习效率。

  • 物理 - CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程的目的是为学生准备I/GCSE CIE物理考试。该课程给学生营造积极的学习环境,并帮助学生获得备考信心。课程中会提供以往真题供学生在课后练习。学生也将参与测验和互动讨论。

  • 物理 - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程的目的是为学生准备I/GCSE Edexcel物理考试。该课程给学生营造积极的学习环境,并帮助学生获得备考信心。课程中会提供不同专题的以往真题供学生在课后练习。学生也将参与测验和互动讨论。

  • 经济 - CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程涵盖I/GCSE CIE经济学在大多数学校第一年 / 第二年教授的课题。本课程的目的是帮助学生打下坚实的经济学基础。课程内容将精心编排,以提高学生的学习效率。学生也将熟悉以往真题,并熟悉考题风格。

  • 经济 - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程涵盖I/GCSE Edexcel经济学在大多数学校第一年 / 第二年教授的课题。本课程的目的是帮助学生打下坚实的经济学基础。课程内容将精心编排,以提高学生的学习效率。学生也将熟悉以往真题,并熟悉考题风格。

  • 商学 - CIE

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程的目的是帮助十年级 / 十一年级的学生准备I/GCSE CIE 商业研究的考试。学生们将会熟悉考试形式,巩固自己的知识。老师会帮助学生了解考题风格,考试大纲中的六大专题(了解企业活动、商务、市场营销、运营管理、财务信息和决策、对企业的外部影响)。在课程结束后,学生将提高和完善自己案例研究的分析能力,以及备考技巧。

  • 地理 - Edexcel

    I/GCSE 第一年&第二年

    本课程的目的是帮助十年级 / 十一年级的学生准备I/GCSE Edexcel 地理的考试。通过练习以往真题和研习案例研究,学生熟悉考题特点和掌握回答技巧。老师会帮助学生了解国际Edexcel课程中的考试风格(有些课题会根据多数学生的要求而省略)。在课程结束后,学生将提高他们对地域理解能力,案例研究的应用能力,以及写作能力。


因应学生的需要而开设:

  • 英国语文:文学
  • 附加数学
  • 历史

私人课程及训练营均有提供。请致电 2577 7844 (香港分校) / 2718 3000 (九龙分校)或提交在线咨询表格以了解详情。


推荐参考书:

浏览更多NTK的学习指南

Hear what students say about our I/GCSE Courses