Frequently Asked Questions 

  • General Questions

    How many lessons are needed for my child?

    This is entirely dependent on the foundation of the student and the subject(s) that he or she is studying. If a test date is getting near, then frequent and concentrated lessons may be beneficial. Otherwise, students can normally take lessons once a week for individual subjects. A diagnostic test can pinpoint the right amount of instruction your child needs.


    Can a student join a regular course in the middle of a term? Is this a detriment to the student's progress?

    If a student has taken our diagnostic test and the result shows that his or her level is appropriate for that particular course, teachers may recommend the student to join mid-course. Students joining mid-course may experience some initial difficulties due to missed lessons. However, this can be easily resolved as new students can request teaching materials distributed in previous lessons. Nonetheless, we strongly recommend students to join our courses from the beginning or as close to the start of the term as possible.


    What happens if the student cannot attend a paid lesson?

    The rescheduling of lessons can only be granted if the reschedule request is made with 10 days' prior notice. Special and extenuating cases are also permitted for rescheduling. For example, if a student has fallen ill, NTK can reschedule the lesson at no extra charge within 7 days provided that there is an official doctor's note. Otherwise, paid lessons are not eligible for rescheduling or refunds. Please understand this is our company policy and is applied to every student.


    What is the difference between a private lesson and a regular course?

    In a regular course, the timeslot, teacher and teaching materials are fixed according to the subject and specific syllabus. Students are recommended to join a regular course because it closely resembles a school study environment. Courses are also less costly.

    Private lessons are comparatively more flexible as students can choose their preferred timeslot, teacher and which syllabus to follow at their own pace. Private lessons are especially ideal for students whose academic level is higher or lower compared to their peers. Private lessons also cater to higher level specialized subjects for which NTK does not currently offer courses.


    Do the teaching materials and syllabuses from our lessons correspond with the curriculum that my child follows from school?

    For courses, teachers use a pre-determined course syllabus (with accompanying material), which may or may not follow directly with the students' school syllabus. However, apart from teaching core content to students, teachers also devote some attention to helping students with their own homework or answering individual questions.

    Most students enrolled in private lessons, prefer teachers to help them with their school curriculum. Students and parents can easily request that our teachers prepare materials according to the syllabus they would like to follow. It is paramount that students and parents communicate clearly and early with teachers about the curriculum they desire. If teachers are not informed which syllabus or materials to use, they will prepare lessons to strengthen core content using their own materials.


    Why can't I arrange lessons with the teachers directly?

    Teachers are solely responsible for academic matters. All scheduling and payment related issues are handled by NTK's administration staff. Teachers are full-time employees of NTK and their schedules are subject to school timetables.


    How do I register?

    You will need to fill in a registration form for the enrolling student. This can be done in person at our Learning Center at 7/F, 18 Hysan Avenue, Causeway Bay or at 2/F, The Avery,16 Hau Wong Road, Kowloon City.


    When should I confirm the following month's lessons and how?

    You may confirm a lesson with us by calling our Customer Relationship Officers at 2577 7844 (Main campus) or 2718 3000 (Kowloon campus) during office hours. Please note that all lessons must be confirmed by the 20th of each month for the following month.


    How can I pay for a lesson?

    NTK offers a range of payment methods, including:

    • Credit card payment by phone (please call 2577 7844 (Main campus) or 2718 3000 (Kowloon campus))
    • Online payment via www.ntk.edu.hk
    • In person at our 7/F front desk
    • By post
    • ATM
    • Bank transfer
    • PPS

    You may also learn more details about our payment methods.

     

  • Questions about SAT & ACT

    When is the best time to start SAT preparation courses?

    It is generally recommended that students start at least one academic year prior to the date of their first scheduled SAT exam. Some students may choose to start two years in advance. Most of NTK's students begin SAT preparation around Grade 9 and 10 (Year 10 and 11). Many local students require an extended period of time to prepare adequately for the critical reading and writing sections of the SAT.


    How many times should my child take the SAT?

    This is entirely dependent on the diagnostic report of the student and his or her target score. There is no limit to the number of times a student can take the SAT exam; however, there are a few considerations to take into account. While some universities ultimately see the cumulative score of a student's multiple SAT exam results, it is generally not recommended to take the exam more than three times. Constantly preparing for SAT re-examination can divert a student's energy from important school work and impede his or her overall performance.


    Are ACT results recognized by US universities?

    All four-year universities in the United States (with a few rare exceptions) recognize ACT results with equal weight as SAT results. However, it is important to check the details of each university's admissions requirements.


    Which test should my child take, the SAT or the ACT?

    This depends on the particular strengths and weaknesses of the student. The current SAT places more emphasis on verbal reasoning and typically uses tricky language in its questions, but its Mathematics section is easier than the ACT's. ACT questions tend to be much more straightforward than the SAT's, but the ACT has an additional Science section which the SAT does not have. International school students seem to be more suited towards the SAT, while local school students may feel more suited to the ACT.


    How many lessons does my child need to prepare for the test?

    This is entirely dependent on the results of the diagnostic test and the timing of the exam date. Usually, it is recommended that students join a general course and attend on a regular basis. These courses typically run from September to June of the next year. This consistent enrollment in a course can build a strong foundation at an effective pace. If the test date is imminent, intensive drilling courses are ideal to quickly prepare students in content knowledge and time management for the exams.

  • Questions about SAT Subject Tests

    Why should students take SAT Subject Tests?

    Some universities require a certain number of SAT Subjects Tests to be taken in order to meet the application requirements. It is important to check the individual requirements of each university about SAT Subject Tests. A higher score in the Subject Tests will always weigh more favorably towards acceptance. It is important to note that SAT Subject Tests are separate from the SAT Reasoning Test, which assesses Critical Reading, Writing, and Math.

    How should a student choose which SAT Subject Tests to take?

    Students should generally choose SAT Subject Tests according to their academic strengths, especially subjects that they have had the most experience with in order to maximize their chances for a high score. Each Subject Test has its own syllabus and students should prepare in advance.

    Some universities not only require a certain number of SAT Subject Tests, but also require tests in certain fields of study. For example, Massachusetts Institute of Technology requires students to take two Subject Tests: Math I or Math II, and one in Physics, Chemistry, or Biology.

  • Questions about IB courses

    My child is currently enrolled in an IBMYP curriculum. Is that enough preparation to succeed in IBDP?

    A student taking IBMYP should generally be prepared for IBDP; however, there are specific and unique factors for each student to consider. IBMYP is the designed, precursory curriculum for students around Grade 6 to 10 (Year 7 to 11) before embarking on the IB Diploma Programme in Grade 11 and 12 (Year 12 and 13). While IBDP courses follow strict rubrics to prepare students for final exams, IBMYP curricula is left to individual schools to decide how best to prepare students for the future IBDP material. The IBMYP is due to undergo a major overhaul, with a number of changes being implemented in 2015. We recommend starting IBMYP students early with additional tutorial lessons in order to develop essential critical thinking and writing skills needed for success during the IBDP years.

    What is TOK?

    TOK stands for Theory of Knowledge and is one of the three core requirements in the IB Diploma Programme. NTK's TOK course is in essence an epistemology class that ties together the variety of subjects that IBDP students study with a philosophical approach to the understanding of knowledge itself. TOK can be interpreted as a philosophy course that trains students “how” to think within and beyond an academic setting.

    What is the Extended Essay?

    The Extended Essay (EE) is another one of the three core requirements in the IB Diploma Programme. It is an in-depth independent research paper of up to 4,000 words, focusing on a topic of the student's choice normally in one of the student's six chosen subjects for the IB Diploma. The IBO states that the EE “provides students with an opportunity to engage in personal research in a topic of their own choice, under the guidance of a supervisor (a teacher in the school). This leads to a major piece of formally presented, structured writing, in which ideas and findings are communicated in a reasoned and coherent manner, appropriate to the subject chosen.” The supervisor provides the student with advice and assistance in formulating a well-focused research question and acquisition of research resources, as well as monitoring the progress and authenticity of the student's work.

    Can I apply to US colleges with an IB score only?

    The IB Diploma is recognized in 75 countries around the world. The IBO provides an online searchable directory of information with a list of over 2,000 tertiary institutions in the world that recognise the IB. On the whole, almost all major universities and liberal arts colleges in the United States will accept an IB Diploma; however, this does not exempt a student from taking other required admissions tests like the SAT Reasoning Test, other SAT Subject Tests or the ACT.

  • Questions about AP courses

    Why do students need to take AP courses?

    Unlike the IBDP or IGCSE curricula, the US-based curriculum is not centered on requisite final exams for the attainment of a diploma. The Advanced Placement exams (administered by the College Board™, the same test board of the SAT Reasoning Test and Subject Tests) provide students following US-centered education to be able to set themselves apart from other students by taking these challenging university level equivalent courses that culminate in a final exam.

    When judging applications, many elite universities heavily factor the number of AP courses and exams a student has taken. They also note the success (or lack thereof) of the exams taken. By challenging themselves to take AP courses, students can show college admissions boards that they are motivated and self-driven, with the skills and ability to succeed in college. On the contrary, students without AP qualifications may be viewed as not having the motivation to take on an accelerated course load. As a result, excelling on the AP is no longer a choice, but an important prerequisite for gaining entrance into elite institutions.

    What are the AP scoring requirements for credit transfer in universities?

    AP exams are graded on a 1-5 point scale (5 being the highest). Many universities allow for credit transfer for AP scores that meet their standards. Each university and department has different requirements and it is important to check their respective criteria for credit transfer. Typically, a score of 4 or above can count as completion of a 100 level introductory freshman course in that respective field. Some university departments allow credit transfer for a score of 3. Scores of 2 and below generally have no eligibility for credit transfer.

  • Questions about IGCSE courses

    I'm not sure which exam board my child is following. Can NTK help find out?

    NTK keeps as up-to-date as possible on the syllabuses of HK and UK boarding schools. However, because international schools in Hong Kong and UK boarding schools tend to frequently change their examination board providers, it is hard for NTK to keep track. Even so, we can definitely help you to obtain the latest information. The most efficient way to find out what examination board your child is following is to contact the school directly and request a school syllabus.

    Should I take Chinese 1st or 2nd Language?

    Your placement in 1st or 2nd Language courses is entirely based on your ability and diagnostic test results. If you are a borderline student with an average ability for 1st language, but above average ability for 2nd language, you have the option to take both.

    I'm a self-study student. Which exam board should I choose?

    What exam board you choose to take should be entirely based on your strengths and weaknesses. Different exam boards ask for different skill sets. For example, English 1st Language CIE puts heavy emphasis on writing skills and creativity, whereas English 1st Language Edexcel provides less flexibility in exam questions and you have to pre-learn many anthology texts.

    What's the difference between Science Double and Triple Award?

    Science Double and Triple Award are both awarded by the Edexcel exam board. To receive Science Double Award, students need to sit three papers: Physics Paper 1, Chemistry Paper 1 and Biology Paper 1; to receive Science Triple Award, students need to sit not only Paper 1, but also Paper 2 for Physics, Chemistry and Biology, totalling six papers.

  • Questions about GCE AS/AL courses

    What exam boards and modules are available?

    There are many exam boards and a combination of many different modules depending on the school — the best thing to do is directly contact the schools and ask them to provide the syllabus, or alternatively, check online. 

    I'm a self-study student. When do I need to take the exams?

    This depends on the exam board, subject and student's choice. Year by year dates are available from the websites of each exam board. NTK can keep you up-to-date depending on the above factors.

    How does a GCE AS / AL qualification help in applying for a university in Hong Kong or overseas?

    GCE is a necessary, higher level qualification. There are other options like BTECH, HND and IB, so it really depends on what your strengths and weaknesses are. A GCE qualification is a well-recognized higher level qualification that will help your chances of getting into university in Hong Kong and overseas.

    What is the difference between an AS and AL module?

    The A Level is a two-year programme –- the first year is called the Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level, which you must complete in order to progress into A Level.

    Why there are so many different exam boards? Is there an "easier" exam board I can follow so that I can obtain higher marks?

    What is deemed easier or harder depends entirely on your strengths and weaknesses. In order to assess this, NTK can look at your previous grades, give you a diagnostic test or set up a consultation to see what exam board best suits you.

常见问题

  • 一般问题

    我的孩子需要上多少节课?

    这完全取决于学生的基础以及他所报读的课程。如果考试的日期临近,那麽密集丶集中的课程将会对他大有益处。 一般情况下,我们建议学生每科一周一课。为了更准确地选择适合的课程,您可让孩子参加我们的能力评估测试


    学生可以中途加入某一课程吗?这会不会影响他的学习进度?

    如果学生已经通过了我们的能力评估测试,并证明他的学习水准符合某一特定课程的要求,导师可推荐学生报读该课程。学生因中途加入,可能会遇到一些困难,然而,这些问题影响不大,学生可在课前向我们索取该课程已派发的资料。虽然我们会尽力配合中途加入的学生,但我们还是强烈建议学生在课程刚开始时或尽早加入。


    付款之後,如果学生不能上课怎麽办?

    如果您想变更上课时间,必须提前10天提交申请。特殊情况下亦可变更上课时间。如:学生生病,只要出示医生证明,我们会在7天内免费为您变更上课时间。其他情况下,已付款课程将不予变更或退款。这项公司政策适用于所有学生,敬请谅解。


    私人课程和常规课程有什麽区别?

    每一常规课程的上课时间丶任课导师及教材是固定不变的。我们非常推荐学生参加常规课程,因为它与学校的学习环境更为类似,而且价格相对便宜。

    私人课程则更加灵活,学生可以选择适合自己的时间丶导师及学习内容。私人课程尤其适合那些学习成绩特别突出或稍逊的学生。私人课程也适用于一些我们还未开办常规课程的高级别或专科科目。


    这里的教材和课程是否与我孩子学校的课程相对应呢?

    对于常规课程而言,导师将会根据既定的课程设置安排使用相对应的教材,有可能不完全配合学生学校的课程。然而,导师在课堂上除了讲授课程重点之外,也会帮助学生解决学校功课及个别问题。

    对于私人课程而言,大部分学生希望导师可以紧跟学校的课程安排。学生和家长可以要求导师依据学校的课程准备教材。最重要的是学生及家长尽早在课前就学习内容与导师沟通。如果导师在课前并没有得悉任何特别需要,那麽则会自行准备重点巩固知识的教材。


    为什麽我不可以直接和导师安排课程?

    导师全权负责教学相关事务,所有课程的安排及付款等手续都需由我们的行政人员处理。导师于NTK全职工作,他们的时间表将根据公司需要作出安排。


    如何报名?

    您需要填写一份学生报名表。您可以亲临本中心(香港铜锣湾希慎道18号7楼或九龙城侯王道16号The Avery 2楼)填写。除此之外,您还可以在网上填写报名表格。


    我什麽时候需要确定下个月的课程?

    您可以在我们的工作时间打电话给客户服务部人员(2577 7844 (香港分校) / 2718 3000 (九龙分校))确定下个月的课程。请注意,所有课程必须在每月的20号或之前完成确定。


    我怎麽付款?

    NTK为您提供多种:付款方法

    • 电话信用卡付款(请致电2577 7844 (香港分校) / 2718 3000 (九龙分校))
    • 网上付款www.ntk.edu.hk
    • 亲临公司7楼前台付款
    • 邮政付款
    • 银行自动提款机付款
    • 银行转帐
    • PPS

    您也可浏览更多关于付款方法的详情。

     

  • SAT及ACT常见问题

    开始备考SAT的最佳时间是什麽时候?

    通常我们建议学生至少提前一年准备SAT考试。有些学生甚至选择提前两年准备考试。我们大部分的学生在Grade 9-10 (Year 10-11)开始准备SAT。很多香港学生需要花较长的时间去充分准备SAT的批判性阅读以及写作部分。


    我的孩子应该参加几次SAT?

    这完全取决于学生的学前评估测试成绩和他的目标分数。学生参加SAT的次数是没有限制的,然而,值得注意的是,一些大学会考虑学生多次SAT的总分。所以通常我们并不推荐学生参加多过3次的考试。多次备考SAT会分散学生的精力,使得他们不能更好地完成重要学校功课,以致影响最终的成绩。


    ACT的成绩获美国的大学认可吗?

    除了极个别的学校之外,所有的美国4年制大学都认可ACT,成绩与SAT有同等比重。然而,学生仍需仔细查看每间大学的不同入学要求。


    我的孩子应该参加哪一个测试?是SAT还是ACT?

    这取决于学生学习的强项及弱项。SAT更重视口头的推理性,并且喜欢用较为艰涩的语言出题,然而SAT的数学部分却比ACT容易一些。ACT的题目比SAT更加直接,但是ACT却比SAT多了一个科学测试的部分。国际学校的学生通常更适合考SAT的考试,而本地学校的学生则更适合考ACT的考试。即便如此,每个学生的情况都不相同,所以在做完能力评估测试及经过专业咨询之後才可决定哪一个考试最为适合。


    我的孩子在考试前需要上多少节课?

    这取决于学生的能力评估测试成绩和距离考试的时间。通常,我们推荐学生参加常规课程。常规课程在每年的九月开班直至第二年的六月。连续的常规课程可以帮助孩子循序渐进地打下良好的基础。如果考试日期临近,集中的密集训练课程会是更好的选择,因为学生可以迅速地复习重点知识,并学习时间控制等考试技巧。

  • SAT Subject Test常见问题

    为什麽学生需要报读SAT Subject Test?

    某些大学的收生要求是学生需要报读一定数量的SAT Subject Tests。因此,学生应仔细检查每间大学对SAT Subject Test的入学要求。如果学生在SAT Subject Test中取得高分,在大学收生方面会比较占优势。同时,学生也需要留意SAT Subject Test和SAT Reasoning Test是两类不同考试,SAT Reasoning Test主要考察批判性阅读丶写作及数学,与SAT Subject Test不同。

    学生应如何选择报读哪个SAT Subject Test?

    学生应根据其学业强项而去报读合适的SAT Subject Tests,特别是应该报读曾学习过的学科,藉此考取最佳分数。由于每一个SAT Subject Test有其特别的课程内容及考核重点,学生应预先了解细节。

    某些大学不但要求学生报读一定数量的SAT Subject Test,而且也要求报读特定的范畴。例如,麻省理工学院要求学生报读两个SAT Subject Test,其中一个需要是数学I 或数学 II,而另一个则在物理丶化学和生物中任择其一。

  • IB常见问题

    我的孩子正在学习IBMYP的课程,这样是否足够在IBDP的考试中取得高分呢?

    一般来说,IBMYP课程能够为学生打好基础,以准备IBDP课程,但学生应留意个人的特殊情况。IBMYP课程专门为准备应考IBDP的学生而设,学生程度为Grade 6-10 (Year 7-11),而IBDP则适合Grade 11-12 (Year 12-13)的学生。IBDP课程拥有严格的大纲,而IBMYP教授的内容却由学校自主,主要目的为培训学生将来应考IBDP。这就使得IBMYP与IBDP之间可能出现过渡上的问题。我们建议学生尽早通过额外的课程,培养批判性思维能力及写作技巧,以便在未来的IBDP学习阶段取得成功。

    TOK是什麽?

    TOK是知识论(Theory of Knowledge)的缩写,是IBDP课程中的三个必考项目之一。NTK 的TOK课程本质上结合了各种IBDP科目的知识,旨在教授学生运用哲学的方法去理解所学的知识。TOK 可被视为一种哲学课程,教会学生如何思考学术问题,并扩充至不同层面。

    什麽是延伸论文?

     

    延伸论文IBDP课程中的三个必考项目的另一项。学生在自己所学的6个科目中选择一个话题,通过独立的研究,写出4000字以上的论文。IBO指出:这使得学生可以用严谨的结构丶正式的语言和逻辑的思考方式去表达自己的想法和发现。导师在学生完成论文期间会对学生的研讨问题及资料搜集提出建议,同时,也会监督学生写作的真实性。

    如果我只有IB 成绩,是否可以申请美国的大学?

    IB文凭获全球75个国家认可。国际文凭组织网站提供了全球超过2000所认可该文凭的大学列表。基本上美国的大部分大学院校都接受IB文凭,然而这并不表示学生可以不用参加其他诸如SAT Reasoning TestSAT Subject Tests以及ACT等考试。

  • AP常见问题

    为什麽学生需要参加AP考试?

    美国的教育制度与IBDPIGCSE不同,并不以学生的最後考试成绩来颁发文凭。AP与SAT均由美国考试局主办,让学生通过参加难度与大学课程类似的考试,以突显他们的能力。

    当考虑申请者时,很多顶尖大学都非常重视学生参加AP考试的科目数量以及成绩。通过挑战自己参加AP考试,学生可以向学校展示出自己积极上进的学习态度,以证明自己有能力进行大学阶段的学习。相反,学生如果没有AP的证书,则会被学校认为没有动力去接受未来的学习挑战与压力。所以,参加AP考试并不再是一个选择,而是进入优秀大学的一个重要条件。

    大学学分转移对于AP得分的要求是什麽?

    AP考试的得分为1至5分,5分为最高。很多大学在AP成绩达到该校要求的情况下是允许学分转移的。每一所大学和学院的学分转移要求并不一样,所以请仔细查看各学院的具体学分转移要求。通常AP得到 4分或以上会被视为完成该学科大学一年班100程度入门课程。一些大学的学分转换标准仅为3分。2分或以下一般不能成功转移学分。

  • IGCSE常见问题

    我不知道我的孩子应该参加哪种考试,NTK可以提供帮助吗?

    NTK一直致力于紧跟香港和英国寄宿学校的最新课程。然而,香港的国际学校和英国的寄宿学校经常更换其考试评核机构,这给NTK掌握最新进展带来一定的难度。即便如此,我们非常乐意为您联系有关学校,了解最新资讯。最有效的方法是找到您的孩子所属的考试评核机构并直接与学校联系,索取学校课程大纲。

    我应该报读中文1st Language还是2nd Language?

    您选择报读中文的第一或第二语言课程完全取决于您的语文水平以及于NTK能力评估测试的结果。如果您是一个成绩中等的学生,即中文水准达不到母语,但高于第二语言的平均水准,我们建议您这两种课程都报读。

    我是一位自修生。我应该选择参加哪个考试评核机构举办的考试?

    您应根据自己的强项和弱项来选择参加什麽考试。不同的考试评核机构对考试技巧的要求不同。例如,CIE的英语(第一语言)考试注重写作技巧和创造力,而Edexcel的英语(第一语言)的考题却不太灵活,考生必须预先学习很多选文。

    科学的双科文凭和三科文凭之间的区别是什麽?

    科学双科文凭和三科文凭是由Edexcel考试评核机构颁发的。要获得科学的双文凭,学生需要完成三份试卷:物理丶化学和生物每科的试卷一;若想获得科学三科文凭,学生不仅需要完成上述三科的试卷一,还要完成每科的试卷二,总共六份试卷。

  • GCE AS/AL常见问题

    有哪些常见的考评机构及国际考试?

    不同的学校采用不同的考试评核机构及科目搭配,最好的办法就是直接联系相关学校,询问学校所提供的课程,当然也可以在网上查询。

    我是一位自修生,我什麽时候需要参加考试?

    这取决于考试评核机构丶考试科目和考生自己的选择。每年,考生都可以从相关考试评核机构的网站查询到考试日期。NTK也可以帮您跟进,及时根据您的情况为您提供最新的考试资讯。

    GCE AS/AL的资格及成绩对申请香港或海外大学有什麽帮助?

    GCE是一项必需的高级程度考试,其成绩在世界范围内广受认可,能够增加您进入香港或海外大学的机会。此外,考生也可以根据自身学业的强项和弱项,选择BTECH丶HND或IB等其他国际考试。

    AS和AL考试有什麽区别?

    AL考试为期两年,第一年称作AS程度。考生必须完成该阶段的学习,才能升入A level继续就读。

    为什麽有那麽多的考试评核机构,哪种考试可以让我更轻松地拿到高分?

    考试的难度完全取决于您自己的学业水准。如果您想更好地了解自己,找到最适合自己的考试,NTK可以参考您以前的成绩,并结合我们的能力评估测试,帮您进行评估。您也可以预约我们的教育咨询服务,与我们的教学专家一起选择最适合您的考试。